A bicyclist was seriously injured early Monday morning in the 6200 block of 66th Street, the Pinellas Beaches Patch reported. The cyclist, a 34-year-old man from Kenneth City, was reportedly riding southbound on 66th street, when he was struck from behind by a red vehicle, believed to be a 2006-2010 Chrysler 300 or Magnum. According to police, the car has a damaged side mirror on the passenger side.
Pinellas Park Police Investigating The Cause Of the Crash
The cause of the accident remains under investigation. Anyone with information on this March 29th bicycle crash, including the identity of the driver, should call the Pinellas Park Police Department at 727-369-7864. Individuals wishing to remain anonymous can contact Crime Stoppers of Pinellas County at 800-873-TIPS (8477).
Although they occur far too often, it is always disheartening to learn of hit-and-run accidents. There is no excuse for not stopping at the scene of the accident – it is required by Florida law. We hope that the man injured in this crash is able to make a full recovery, and that the driver will turn themself in or be located as soon as possible.
Florida Bicycle Accident Statistics
ABC Action News reported that in 2019, 142 cyclists were killed statewide in Florida accidents, and 44 of those were in the 11 counties in the Tampa Bay area. In Pinellas County, there were 513 bicycle crashes in 2019, including 6 fatal crashes. Bicycle accidents often cause serious injuries, including broken bones, road rash injuries, spinal cord injuries, and traumatic brain injuries.
Drivers Are Required To Stop At The Scene Of A Crash
The Sunshine State has a major problem with hit-and-run crashes and law enforcement agencies take them very seriously. In 2019, 81% of traffic crash fatalities were a hit-and-run. In Florida, the Aaron Cohen Life Protection Act became law in 2014, after a cyclist was struck and killed by an impaired driver who fled the scene of a crash. Drivers convicted of leaving the scene of a fatal crash face a mandatory minimum of four years in jail (and potentially up to 30 years in prison) and a $10,000 fine. Leaving the scene of an injury crash can mean a revoked license for three years, five years in prison, and a $5,000 fine.
How a Bicycle Accident Lawyer Can Help After a Hit and Run Crash
Injured cyclists may have the right to seek compensation after an accident. Even if the driver is not located, injured victims of hit and run traffic accidents may be able to recover compensation for their injuries in a personal injury claim under an uninsured/underinsured driver policy. Do not delay in contacting a lawyer after an accident. The Coleman Law Group offers a free consultation to review your legal rights and answer your questions. Call us at (877) 822-9292. If we represent you in your personal injury claim, we will not charge any legal fees unless we recover money for you.